The Roman Catholic Church in the British Overseas Territories of the southern Atlantic Ocean is represented by two ecclesiastical jurisdictions, both immediately responsible to the Holy See. Together the Apostolic Prefecture of the Falkland Islands and the Mission sui iuris of St. Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha care for the souls of all who live, work and visit these islands.

The history of the Church, in these Islands, can be traced back as far as the eighteenth century. The early mission began in a rather tentative way but gradually developed over the years, especially under the dedicated priests and religious brothers and sisters of the Salesian Order (1888-1952) and the Mill Hill Missionaries (1952-2002.) Since 2002 the Catholic Bishops of England and Wales has taken on the responsibility to provide for its pastoral needs of the people of the South Atlantic.

At the moment we have one full time resident priest on the Falkland Islands, Fr John Wisdom, O.Praem., serving as Parish Priest of St Mary’s Church, Stanley. Fr. Wisdom is a priest of the Premonstratensian Order (also known as Norbertines or White Canons), based in Chelmsford, United Kingdom and is also Vicar General of the Prefecture.

We also have a full time resident priest on St. Helena – Fr David Musgrave, a Schoenstatt Father. Fr. Musgrave served much of his priesthood as a priest of the Archdiocese of Cape Town and, until recently, was Parish Priest of Our Lady of the Visitation in Constantia.

To find out more about Mass times on these two islands, please see the respective pages for St. Helena and the Falklands.